HITRUST– What Is Its Framework and Domains?

The people who are connected with HITRUST or healthcare organizations then they might be aware of this term. HITRUST is a privately held company located in Fresco, Texas, the United States, which collaborates with the technology, Healthcare, and information security organizations. This company mainly establishes the hitrust framework (CSF), which helps to prescriptive and certify the framework of the entire various organizations. The organizations that create access and store sensitive or regulated data must connect with it as this platform allows them to have a great impact on their safety and security factor.

HITRUST is known as the Health Information Trust Alliance that ensures large companies and firms are safe from all the troublesome situations that can occur due to any misfortune. HITRUST includes the for-profit division and non-for-profit division, which includes the tourist services.HITRUST Alliance ensures people and big companies to be safe with proper data regulation. CSF is known as the Common Security Framework, mainly adopted by various health care and Technology organizations to keep proper security of their data and information.

HITRUST Framework

  • If you pay attention to the CSF, you will find that it is currently in version nine, a certifiable framework that harmonizes and encompasses several other compliance frameworks. According to the state requirement, the major frameworks and Standards that come under HITRUST include RMF, NIST, HIPAA, HITECH, and many others.


  • The HITRUST alliance and interim release of HITRUST CSF V 9.1 will be used as general data protection regulation. Another major role of this interim is to release the map of CSF privacy and security requirements to the AICPA, which is known as Trust Services Criteria for Privacy.


The people who work for connecting with HITRUST CSF must pay attention to the criteria that it does not create broad buckets like security and administrative controls. The hitrust framework is mainly divided into 14 different control domains, and those domains include –

  • Portable Media Security
  • Information Protection Program
  • Endpoint Protection
  • Configuration Management
  • Mobile Device Security
  • Wireless Security
  • Vulnerability Management
  • Network Protection
  • Password Management
  • Transmission Protection
  • Audit Logging and Monitoring
  • Access Control
  • Training, Education, and Awareness
  • Risk Management
  • Incident Management
  • Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery
  • Data Protection and Privacy
  • Third-Party Assurance
  • Physical and Environmental Security

These are some of the major control domains that help people greatly impact the various organization’s safety andsecurity aspects. Once you learned about the major aspects related to HITRUST domains and frameworks, then it will help the large organizations to have a great impact on their task completion and risk-free surroundings.

Final Verdict

By considering the information mentioned above, you can enhance your knowledge about the various hitrust framework. It will help you know about the Hitler framework and help you know the various control domain that comes under HITRUST domains. Try to stay focused so that you can have a better understanding of HITRUST and its various aspects. If you don’t pay attention to the mentioned details then you won’t get chance to learn more about HITRUST.